
INTRODUCTION 
 

A tax exemption is a discharge from the 
obligation to pay all or a portion of a tax. 
Exemptions are conferred by the Legislature 
on particular categories of persons or 
property. 
 
Clauses 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 22D, 22E and 
22F of section 5 of Chapter 59 provide 
exemptions to certain veterans (and their 
spouses or surviving spouses) who were not 
dishonorably discharged and who meet 
certain residency requirements. 
 
 

APPLICATIONS 
 

Applications must be filed annually with the 
local assessors in the city or town where the 
property is located on or before December 
15th, or three months after the actual tax bills 
are mailed, whichever is later.  Filing an 
application does not entitle the applicant to a 
delay in tax payment. 
 
 

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 
 

An individual must (1) have been a 
Massachusetts domiciliary prior to entering 
the service or (2) have lived in Massachusetts 
for not less than 2 years prior to filing for 
exemption or, in those communities which 
have accepted the alternative local option 
provision, for not less than 1 year prior to 
filing. 

DOCUMENTATION 
 

An applicant for an exemption must provide to 
the assessors whatever information is reasonably 
required to establish eligibility.  This information 
may include, but not limited to: 
 
1 Certification of a war-service connected 

disability from the Veterans Administration 
or the branch of service from which 
separated. 

2 Evidence of domicile and occupancy. 
 

DOMICILE 
 

The veteran must occupy the property as his or 
her domicile on July 1 of the tax year. 
 
 

OWNERSHIP 
 

1 A qualifying applicant must possess a 
sufficient ownership interest in the domicile.  
To satisfy this ownership requirement, the 
person’s interest must be worth at least 
$2,000.  The person may own this interest 
solely, as a joint owner or as a tenant in 
common.   

 
2 The holder of a life estate satisfies the 

ownership requirement. 
 
3 If the domicile is held in a trust, a person can 

only satisfy the ownership interest if he: 
 
a) Is a trustee or co-trustee of that trust . 
b) Possesses a sufficient beneficial interest 

in the domicile through that trust.  
(Splitting the interest between multiple 
trusts does not qualify). 

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 
AND EXEMPTION AMOUNTS 

FOR EACH CLAUSE 
 

Clause 22 - $400   
 
This exemption is available to the following 
classes of persons: 
 
1 Veterans with a war-service connected 

disability of 10% or more as determined 
by the Veterans Administration or the 
branch of service from which separated. 

2 Veterans who have been awarded the 
Purple Heart. 

3 Gold Star mothers and fathers 
4 Spouses (where domicile is owned by the 

veteran’s spouse) and surviving spouses 
(who do not remarry) of veterans entitled 
to exemption . 

 
 
Clause 22A - $750   
 
This exemptions is available to veterans (and 
their spouses or their surviving spouses) who: 
 
1 Suffered in the line of duty the loss or 

permanent loss of use of one foot or one 
hand or one eye. 

 
2 Received the Congressional Medal of 

Honor, Distinguished Service Cross, Navy 
Cross or Air Force Cross. 

 
3      Were prisoners of war. 



If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $750 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22B - $1,250    
 
This exemption is available to veterans (and 
their spouses or their surviving spouses) who 
suffered in the line of duty the loss or 
permanent loss of use of both feet or both 
hands or both eyes. 
 
If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $1,250 
which corresponds to the segment occupied 
by the veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22C - $1,500    
 
This exemption is available to veterans (and 
their spouses or their surviving spouses) who 
(1) suffered total disability in the line of duty 
and (2) who received assistance in acquiring 
“specially adapted housing” which they own 
and occupy as their domicile. 
 
If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $1,500 
which corresponds to the segment occupied 
by the veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22D - Full Exemption  
 
This exemption is available to surviving 
spouses (who do not remarry) of soldiers and 
sailors whose proximate cause of death was 
an injury or illness suffered during active  
duty. 
 

Clause 22E - $1,000    
 
This exemption is available to veterans (and their 
surviving spouses) who suffered  100% disability 
in the line of duty. 
 
If the subject property is greater than a single 
family house, only that fraction of $1,000 which 
corresponds to the segment occupied by the 
veteran will be allowed. 
 
Clause 22 F - Full Exemption    
 
This exemption is available to veterans and the 
surviving spouses of such veterans who are 
certified by the Veterans Administration as 
paraplegic from an injury received while in the 
service and in the line of duty or 100% disabled 
due to service-connected blindness. 

 
WARTIME SERVICE 

 
Wartime service is service performed by a Spanish 
War veteran, a World War I veteran, a World War 
II veteran, a Korean veteran, a Vietnam veteran, a 
Lebanese peace keeping force veteran, a Grenada 
rescue mission veteran, a Panamanian 
intervention force veteran, a Persian Gulf veteran, 
or a member of WAAC.  The dates for each 
qualifying military action are set out in G. L. Ch. 4 
sec. 7(43).  

 
FOR FURTHER  

INFORMATION CONTACT: 
 

Town of Oak Bluffs  
Assessing Department 

PO Box 1327 
Oak Bluffs, MA 02557 

508-693-3554 x150 
 
 

TAXPAYER’S GUIDE TO  
REAL ESTATE TAX 

EXEMPTIONS IN 
MASSACHUSETTS 

 
CLAUSE 22 

CLAUSE 22A 
CLAUSE 22B 
CLAUSE 22C 
CLAUSE 22D 
CLAUSE 22E 
CLAUSE 22F 

 
 

Property Tax Exemptions for  
Qualifying  Veterans 

 

Note all first time filers must supply a 
copy of their DD214 Discharge Papers 


