Board of Assessors
The Assessing Department is currently operating by appointment only. Please contact principal assessor MacGregor Anderson at (508) 693-3554 x150 or email@example.com for assistance. We respond same day to inquiries. You can also contact the administrative assistant at (508) 693-3554 x104.
There is a drop box outside the School Street entrance of the temporary town hall at 53 School Street, and in/out boxes for the department located just inside the entryway. You will find abutters list and abatement applications in the out box and most key forms at the bottom of this page.
- Marie B. Allen - June 30, 2022
- Melanie M. Bilodeau - June 30, 2023
- Jesse B. Law, III - June 30, 2021
The 2021 Fiscal Year (July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021) Tax Rate has been certified by the Department of Revenue. It is $7.37 per thousand for all classes of real estate and for personal property.
FY21 values have been calculated and approved by the DOR and are available following the quick link on the right: FY2021 Mapping - Interactive G.I.S. Now with FY21 Property Record Card Link.
Instructions for finding the cards on GIS are below. In accordance with Massachusetts General Laws and Department of Revenue regulations, Assessed Values for FY2021 have been adjusted to reflect fair cash value as of January 1, 2020.
The Board of Assessors is responsible for the full and fair valuation of all Oak Bluffs real and personal property for the purpose of the equitable distribution of the property tax burden. The assessors regularly collect and analyze data pertaining to recent real estate transactions, current costs of land acquisitions and building construction, commercial market rents, vacancies, and expenses, and land use issues to assist them in determination of market value.
Massachusetts General Laws dictate that property be assessed at full and fair valuation as of January 1st preceding the beginning of the fiscal year (July - June). Every 5 years the Department of Revenue performs a procedural audit of the assessors work to certify that the Town is meeting its statutory requirement of full and fair value. This next audit will take place in fiscal year 2023. By law, every parcel in town should be inspected every 10 years.
Assessors have the responsibility for the Motor Vehicle Excise tax bills that are originated by the State Registry of Motor Vehicles. The Registry updates bills to reflect recent change and then pass the bills on to the Town for distribution. Assessors grant abatements and answer questions regarding excise tax bills. In addition, with information furnished by the Department of Environmental Police, the Assessor's office originates boat excise bills for people who have boats.
Exemptions and Abatement
Massachusetts General Laws allow certain taxpayers exemptions from all or a portion of their property tax bills. These exemptions are allowed to those who qualified under State Law, primarily from among the elderly, disabled veterans, the blind, widows and widowers, and minor children of deceased parents. In order to receive an exemption, you must apply at the Assessors Office.
Board of Assessors - Agendas & Minutes
- Motor Vehicle Excise Abatement Application (PDF)
- Boat Excise Abatement Application (PDF)
- Real Estate and Personal Property Abatement Application (PDF)
- Form of List Residential Second Home (PDF)
- Abutters List Request Form (PDF)
- Boat Declaration FY22 (PDF)
- Legally Blind Exemption Brochure 37 FY22 (PDF)
- Legally Blind Exemption Form 37 FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 65 and Older Deferral Brochure 41A FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 65 and Older Deferral Form 41A FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 65 and Older Exemption Brochure 41C FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 65 and Older Exemption Form 41C FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 70 and Older - Surviving Spouse - Minor Exemption Brochure 17D FY22 (PDF)
- Senior 70 and Older - Surviving Spouse - Minor Exemption Form 17D FY22 (PDF)
- Disabled Veteran Exemption Brochure 22 FY22 (PDF)
- Disabled Veteran Exemption Form 22 FY22 (PDF)